Layout and Page Structure

February 23, 2010 at 1:56 am 1 comment

I think this page from the Daily Herald shows good rhythm in its page structure. Columns are different widths and the page is balanced with images. Nothing is stacked boringly on something else, but each element works together for a cohesive whole.

I also like the structure of this layout from the Wichita Eagle. The variety in column width is more interesting to my eye than a constant width. The page is balanced with images and focal points that break up text and add color. Again, this page is rhythmic, not static.

I find the structure of this page stagnant, heavy and boring. The design lacks rhythm and discourages me from reading any of its giant blocks of text. I’d like to see more variety in column width and the grouping of elements, more images as focal points and more information layering.

The structure of this layout also feels static to me. The tiny bit of variation created by the ad at the bottom of the page drives me nuts. My mind automatically groups the ad with the story above it and gets annoyed when it realizes they don’t actually fit together. I’d like to show more variety to avoid weird groupings by my eye and break up the text more.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Information Layering Features Design

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. jennpal  |  March 1, 2010 at 3:34 am

    I would argue that your first example is pretty bad page structure. There’s too much white space next to the jaws headline, there’s no real dominant image, everything feels very tight, and it’s pretty text heavy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Most Recent Posts


